NBA admits error on overtime foul that knocked Dwight Howard out of Rockets-Blazers Game 1 (Video)
Summary of 2 articles · Updated Apr 21, 2014
Good news, Houston Rockets fans: If you thought that the referees botched the foul call that knocked Dwight Howard out of Game 1 against the Portland Trail Blazers late in overtime on Sunday, it turns out you were right! There is, however, some bad news: Your prize for being correct is absolutely, positively nothing but more frustration. It's no sure thing that Howard would have cashed in on his rightful trip to the charity stripe he missed eight of his 17 free-throw attempts on Sunday, as the Blazers went to the "Hack-a-Howard" intentional foul strategy and the All-Star big man couldn't make them pay but if nothing else, I'm betting Kevin McHale would've liked being able to avoid giving Portland the ball back with a chance to extend their advantage in the final 11 seconds.